• Moderators, please send me a PM if you are unable to access mod permissions. Thanks, Habsy.

McGinn Re-Signs

SlapShots

I like this deal. Glad he's back. Does not make him protected come Seattle's draft...McGinn is the type of guy that any team wants-- plays hard whistle to whistle, never shy and plays full length of the rink. A

andyt

Canes Moderator
Staff member
That cap space though.....

Reimer has to go.
He can only go by trade, as CM pointed out in another thread, he can’t be bought out. If he’s sent to Charlotte, the Canes are still on the hook for $1 million cap hit.

The cap hit on CapFriendly is a bit misleading, IMO. It has a roster of 23 including 14 forwards. I doubt that Gibbons and Bishop make the team out of camp, that’s a $1.4 million reduction. If Williams comes back, Necas may not stick either, he has to play with Aho or Haula, he’s not ready to play on a shutdown line and the 4th line is a waste.

The other thing to keep an eye on is Maenalanen. He’s an ideal candidate for the 13th forward. He was qualified and chose not to go to arbitration. He may well decide to go back to Finland if he doesn’t see a spot on the Canes roster. If he checks out and Williams re-signs, Gibbons could make the team as the 13th forward, he has 189 NHL games under his belt and we have no long term commitment to his development, so sitting him in the press box isn’t a big deal.

jeffbear

Mod Squad
Staff member
He can only go by trade, as CM pointed out in another thread, he can’t be bought out. If he’s sent to Charlotte, the Canes are still on the hook for $1 million cap hit.

The cap hit on CapFriendly is a bit misleading, IMO. It has a roster of 23 including 14 forwards. I doubt that Gibbons and Bishop make the team out of camp, that’s a $1.4 million reduction. If Williams comes back, Necas may not stick either, he has to play with Aho or Haula, he’s not ready to play on a shutdown line and the 4th line is a waste.